• Home
  • Next on the Tee
  • Season 11, Ep 22 Pt 2: Talking Masters Past & Present with Mark Calcavecchia & Rob Strano

In Part 2 of this week’s show, we continue The Masters conversation with a guy who played in the tournament 18 times and was currently over in Augusta, Mark Calcavecchia. Following Mark, I’m joined by Rob Strano. Rob grew up playing at the same country club as 1968 Masters Champion Bob Goalby.

Mark starts off sharing some personal stories of Augusta National like why he’s nicknamed the bunker on 10 Brenda’s Bunker, after his wife. We learn that the tradition of skipping shots across the pond on 16 during the practice rounds was started by Mark and his college teammate Ken Green. Mark and Ken used to bet about who could make all kinds of shots. When they got to 16 during a practice round in 1987, they threw a few balls down and tried to see who could get it closer. The next morning there was a letter waiting for Green in his locker from Augusta National Chairman Hord Harden saying “We don’t do that at Augusta National.” Of course, now it’s a tradition during the practice rounds. If players don’t skip one across the pond, the patrons boo them. Mark and I switch gears and talk about the Masters merchandise craze and one we don’t understand around Masters nomes. We then get into some of his playing memories like the time he shot 29 on the back 9 in 1992. In 2001 he started the final round tied with Tiger and Phil. We hear about how he got ahead of himself and let that one get away. He and his wife Brenda are great people and great follows on social media. Be sure to follow them @MarkCalc and @BrendaCalc.

Rob Strano grew up in St. Louis playing at the same country club as 1968 Masters Champion Bob Goalby. Mr. Goalby won that Masters in part thanks to Roberto DiVincenzo signing an incorrect scorecard. In the final round, Goalby birdied 13 and 14 and then eagled 15. DiVincenzo birdied 17 to take a one-stroke lead but his playing partner Tommy Aaron marked down a 4 instead of a 3. When their round was over, Goalby and DiVincenzo thought they were headed for an 18-hole playoff on Monday. But since DiVincenzo signed the card with the higher score, USGA rules state the higher score stands, so he lost by a stroke. Rob shares how Mr. Goalby dealt with how all that unfolded. I also get his insights on the topography of the course, how undulated those greens are, and who he likes to win this week.

Posted in Next on the Tee