The 2014 NFL season is almost upon us and that could only mean one thing, it’s time for some predictions. Everywhere you look, from now until the first kickoff, you will see everyone giving their expert predictions on who will take home the top awards for the season. Fans and media from around the globe are making their guesses on who will be the AFC and NFC Defensive Player of the Year, AFC and NFC Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the year, NFL Comeback Player of the year and NFL MVP for 2014. The only problem is that’s all they are, guesses. I am not going to give you my “guess” on who will take home the awards but I am going to tell you who will take home the most coveted NFL hardware when the season concludes. By looking into the magic eight ball I have seen the future. If you want guesses, go somewhere else. The magic eight ball never lies. So without anymore hesitation, the awards go to:
AFC Defensive Rookie of the Year
Ryan Shazier, Pittsburgh Steeler Inside Linebacker. Shazier’s blazing speed and incredible instincts will make him the runaway winner of this award. I wasn’t enthused when Mike Tomlin and Kevin Colbert took him over some standout cornerbacks in May, but he proves me wrong the best way he can, on the field. Starting as the first rookie ever in a Dick LeBeau defense is an amazing accomplishment in its own right and he couldn’t have been put in a better situation to succeed. He will make mistakes just as all rookies do, but his tremendous speed and quickness will allow for him to make up for a lot of those missteps. He will finish the year with 104 tackles, 7 sacks, 3 interceptions, 3 fumble recoveries and 1 touchdown.
NFC Defensive Rookie of the Year
Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears Cornerback. Fuller couldn’t have landed in a better situation than Chicago. Their offense can be explosive which will make other teams playing catch up a lot this season. Early in the year quarterbacks will test Fuller seeing if the Bears made the right move in selecting him. The only advice I have for them is don’t. By mid-season opposing offenses will have learned a very important lesson, don’t throw the ball anywhere near “Fuller Island”. He will finish with 62 tackles, 6 interception, 22 pass breakups and 1 touchdown.
AFC Offensive Rookie of the Year
Bishop Sankey, Running Back Tennessee Titans. With Chris Johnson’s exit to the J.E.T.S, Sankey almost wins the job by default. After a very productive college career he will step right into an improved offense with a healthy Jake Locker and another year of experience for Kendall Wright. He won’t set the world on fire but he will be the best offensive rookie in the AFC. He will finish with 1,137 rushing yards, 466 receiving yards and 11 total touchdowns.
NFC Offensive Rookie of the Year
Mike Evans, Wide Reciever Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Evans has the size. He has the Speed. He has the hands. The Buccaneers are said to be modeling their offense after the Chicago Bears who have Brandon Marshall and Alshon Jeffery. They even went out in free agency and picked up Bears backup quarterback from a year ago Josh McCown. His talent paired with the Bucs offensive scheme, the only thing that could stop Evans would be an injury. He will finish with 78 receptions, 1, 108 yards and 8 touchdowns.
AFC Defensive Player of the Year
JJ Watt, Houston Texans Defensive End. Watt is the best defensive lineman in the game but in the past offenses often doubled and triple teamed him trying to take him out of the game. If they try that this year they will face a big problem on the other side of the defense which goes by the name of Jadeveon Clowney. With Clowney and Watt coming at opposing quarterbacks from all angles, quarterbacks around the league should and will be terrified. He will finish with 18 sacks, 6 forced fumbles, 3 fumble recoveries and 11 balls batted down at the line of scrimmage.
NFC Defensive Player of the Year
Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers Inside Linebacker. Ever since being drafted, Kuechly has been a tackling machine. He makes so many plays it’s almost to the point where you have to check jersey numbers to make sure the Panthers have not cloned him. The reigning DPOY is as dominant of a force as there is in the NFL. Pretty soon he is going to have as many trophies as he does tackles. He will finish with 173 tackles, 5 sacks, 3 forced fumble and 4 interceptions.
NFL Comeback Player of the Year
Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons Wide Receiver. Last season Jones was on pace for 130 catches and over 1,800 yards, until a foot injury derailed both his and the Falcons seasons. This year his foot is healed and he is ready to pick up where he left off before the injury. Although he will miss Tony Gonzalez by his side, a healthy Roddy White will be back giving the Atlanta one of the best receiving duos in football. When it’s all said and done Jones will finish the year with 1,649 yards on 117 catches and 13 touchdowns.
Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints Quarterback. Only eight times in NFL history has a quarterback thrown for 5,000 yards. Drew Brees has down it four of those times. Only five times in NFL history has a quarterback completed 70% of his passes in a season. Brees has accounted for two of those. No quarterback has thrown for more touchdown passes over the past 3 season as Brees’s 128. I think you get the message. This guy is good. In an era where Tom Brady and Peyton Manning have taken turns rewriting the record books, Brees has quietly been the most-steady passer in the game. This year will be no different as he will finish with 5,367 yards and 46 touchdowns with only 9 interceptions.

Posted in Pittsburgh Steelers